Spaghetti Squash w/ Vodka Sauce and Turkey Meatballs or not

National Running Day- June 1st

Before I start my blog for the day, I wanted to recognize that I just read in CarrotsNCake.com, that this past Tuesday, June 1st, was National Running Day.  I just think it’s so ironic that RUNNING was what I COINCIDENTALLY decided to write about that same day.

Enough about working out, now for some dinner and dessert.

Spaghetti Squash w/ Vodka Sauce and Turkey Meatballs or Not

Here is the Original Recipe adapted from www.foodnetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 1 whole spaghetti squash
  • A drizzle of safflower or olive oil
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Sea Salt
  • 3 cups prepared (jarred) marinara or vodka  sauce
  • Turkey meatballs

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.

Split the squash in half and scrape out seeds.

Line an oven tray with aluminum foil. Season the spaghetti squash with safflower oil, salt, and pepper.

 Place flesh side down and roast for 30 to 40 minutes until fully cooked.

Remove from the oven and let rest until cool enough to handle.

Meanwhile heat the marinara or vodka sauce in a large saute pan.  Add turkey meatballs, if desired.

w/o Meatballs

w/ Meatballs

When squash is cool enough to handle, using a large kitchen spoon scrape the strands of squash from the inside of the skin.

Toss the spaghetti squash in the pan with the sauce and turkey meatballs for just long enough to get hot.  Serve and enjoy!

Next time try serving the spaghetti and sauce in the empty squash skin!

I’ve seen it served that way before, but we knew our meatballs would be too heavy to put in there.

We love making this simple and quick meal as a replacement to pasta.  It’s only 41 calories per cup of cooked spaghetti squash!!!  You can jog in place for a few minutes to burn that off! 🙂  Spaghetti squash is also very high in Vitamin C and B6.  Vitamin C is important for promoting a healthy immune system and Vitamin B-6 is needed to break down stored energy.

Here is a link from LiveStrong.com about the benefits and nutritional value of Spaghetti Squash.

After having a delicious dinner we treated ourselves to some fresh peaches Brandon brought home from a local farm near his job and some strawberries and blueberries I picked up earlier in the week from the King’s Drive Farmer’s Market.

Fruit Salad with drizzled Raw Honey

Cloister Honey--Whipped Cinnamon and Raw

We LOVE to get different varieties of Cloister Honey from our other local Farmer’s Market—Atherton Mills Market. 

 One last photo to leave you with—Happy puppies LOVE spaghetti squash too!!!

Happy Puppy

9 responses to “Spaghetti Squash w/ Vodka Sauce and Turkey Meatballs or not

  1. I love spaghetti squash! Nice job posting pics of all the steps… I usually don’t have the patience to do that- it definitely extends your cooking time!!!

  2. Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this web site to obtain hottest updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

  3. Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Appreciate it!

  4. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and
    it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could
    I desire to suggest you some attention-grabbing things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to
    this article. I want to read even more issues about it!

  5. Unquestionably speculate that that you said. Your special excuse seemed to be at the lace the easiest constituent to
    enjoy in regard of. I pronounce to you, I indeed have irked at
    the homogeneous schedule as kindreds speculate affairs that they
    plainly don’t fulfill about. You controlled to jab the claw atop the
    surface furthermore too defined external the integral fad lacking having profile-fulfills , kindreds can select a outstanding.
    Desire liable be corroborate to have also.
    Acknowledges!

  6. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff
    right here! Good luck for the next!

  7. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice
    while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a weblog
    website? The account helped me a appropriate deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant clear idea

  8. This paragraph is actually a fastidious one it helps new the web people, who are wishing for blogging.

Leave a Reply

