Tofu Tacos and Tri-Colored Quinoa & Black Bean Salad

Tofu Tacos and Tri-Colored Quinoa and Black Bean Salad

Let me start off my saying YUM!  I loved this dinner and will definitely make it again!  I found the recipe for the Tofu Tacos from Peas and Thank You, one of my favorite blogs.  The tofu was delicious in the marinade and really had a good ‘taco’ flavor because of the chili powder and cumin.

Tofu Tacos

 This recipe is so simple but I had a slight problem with my tofu being too wet still even after pressing it.  So instead of following the recipe exactly, I made tofu scramble instead of tofu slabs.  But check out the original recipe here.

Spicy Tofu Soft Tacos

Adapted from Peas and Thank You

Print this recipe!

Makes 6-8 tacos

Marinade:

  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 T. agave or maple syrup
  • 1 T. water
  • 1 t. garlic, minced
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1/2 t. cumin

Soft tacos:

  • One 14 oz. package organic, extra firm tofu (drained and pressed and cut into slabs)
  • 6-8 whole wheat soft taco-size or corn tortillas
  • 2 c. shredded cabbage
  • 1 batch Almost Chipotle Guacamole or 1/2 c. other guacamole
  • 1/2 c. prepared salsa

Directions

Prepare your marinade in a container with a sealable lid so you can add the tofu easily.  Just whisk together the ingredients and add the tofu.  Gently shake your container so the tofu is evenly coated with the marinade.  Leave your tofu in the fridge marinating for a few hours.  Your tofu should be evenly coated and will have absorbed most of the liquid.

If making tofu scramble, put skillet on medium heat and place all tofu and remaining marinade in skillet.  The remaining marinade will coat the skillet nicely and help with heating up the tofu.  I turned the tofu a few times and heated it up for about 10 minutes.  While the tofu was heating up, I made a quick guacamole, got out salsa and cut up my cabbage to top the tacos.  I also heated up the tortillas by putting them on a flat skillet for 10-15 seconds on each side.  We then easily made our tacos with the tofu, cabbage, salsa and guac!

Until I purchase a tofu press, I will probably be making my tofu tacos as a tofu scramble, although I love the idea of tofu slabs.  As a side item, I made Tri-Colored Quinoa & Black Bean Salad, adapted from Eat a Plant.  I used the tri-colored quinoa I bought at the bulk section of EarthFare, but any quinoa would work.

Tri-Colored Quinoa BEFORE

Tri-Colored Quinoa AFTER

Tri-Colored Quinoa & Black Bean Salad

Adapted from Eat a Plant

Ingredients:

2 cups quinoa (tri-colored or regular quinoa)
3 ½ cups water
pinch of sea salt
1 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
3 green onions, sliced
1 small jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely diced
1 red pepper, diced
2 cups cooked black beans, rinsed and drained
1 avocado, peeled and sliced for garnish

Dressing
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
½ cup freshly squeezed lemon or lime juice
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 ½ teaspoon sea salt

Directions:
Add quinoa to medium pot with water and sea salt. Bring to boil, reduce heat to low. Cover and let simmer 12-14 minutes or until water is absorbed. Remove from heat.
Place quinoa in a large bowl to cool. Combine oil, juice, salt and cumin in a small bowl. Whisk and pour over cooled quinoa. Toss well. Add cilantro, green onions, jalapeño, red pepper and black beans. Toss.  Garnish with avocado slices and serve.

After realizing I still had my bulk items in the bags I bought them in, I figured I better do some kitchen organization.

Thank You Mariah (pictures pups and pies) for the idea of using these cheap and convenient jars!

One last picture to leave you with….

Lacey's Victim #5

4 responses to “Tofu Tacos and Tri-Colored Quinoa & Black Bean Salad

  1. The quinoa and black bean salad sounds similar to wheat berry salad… with a few less ingredients! I bet it was good. What did you use to press your tofu? I feel like my marble slab works pretty good when I use it, but then again, I have nothing to compare it to. Nice organization method 🙂 hahaha- Lacey’s latest victim! I still can’t believe she is that rough on toys!!!

  2. Yes I really liked the salad…I’ll def make it again, but I must have bought an extra spicy jalopeno, so it was kinda spicy. Well to press the tofu, I couldn’t find anything like a marble slab, so I started with wrapping the tofu in paper towels and pressing the cutting board on top of it…which lead to the tofu crumbling instantly. Yes, Lacey is a bully to her toys…I guess b/c they are the only things smaller than her?!

  3. I love the little labels you put on the mason jars. Perfect looking!

Leave a comment