Wheatberry & Beet Salad and Avocado Seafood Medley Pasta

Wheatberry & Beet Salad

Today I was eager to try out 2 new recipes I’ve been wanting to make for awhile now.  The first one is a delicious beet, sweet potato and wheatberry salad.

Wheatberry & Beet Salad

Wheatberry & Beet Salad

Adapted from KathEats.com

Serves 4 | Prep time 10 minutes |
Cook time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

3 medium-large beets

1 large sweet potato

2 tbsp sunflower seeds

2 handfuls of raw baby spinach

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tbsp maple syrup

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp dijon mustard

2 cloves garlic

1/4 tsp sea salt

2 grinds black pepper

Method

  1. Cut greens off beets. Loosely wrap
    beets in foil and bake at 425* for 45 minutes.
  2. Allow to cool and peel the skin
    off. Chop.
  3. Chop sweet potato and rub with oil,
    cinnamon and cayenne pepper. Bake with beets for 45 minutes.
  4. Combine 1 cup dry wheatberries
    with 2 cups water. Bring to boil and simmer for 45 minutes, until tender to the
    taste.
  5. Sautee spinach in 1 tsp olive
    oil and some garlic.
  6. Combine beets, sweet potato,
    wheatberries, spinach and sunflower seeds in a bowl.
  7. Combine syrup, vinegar, mustard,
    garlic, salt and pepper in a jar. Shake to combine.

Avocado Seafood Medley Pasta

With the next recipe, I mentioned to Brandon that I was making this 15 Minute Creamy Avocado Pasta, and I sent him the link over Windows Live Messenger.  He said it looked good to him, but he needed some protein added to it.  So I thought we would go with either seafood or grilled chicken, I conveniently picked up a seafood medley at Trader Joe’s.  The original recipe is a vegan recipe, so you can omit the added protein if you wish.

Avocado Seafood Medley Pasta

Adapted from OhSheGlows

Yield: Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sized ripe Avocado, pitted
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced + lemon zest to garnish
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 cup Fresh Basil
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 servings/6 oz of your choice of pasta (I used whole wheat spaghetti)
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Seafood Medley (shrimp, calamari, and scallops) –optional

Directions:

1. Bring several cups of water to a boil in a medium sized pot. Add in your pasta, reduce heat to medium, and cook until Al Dente, about 8-10 minutes.  At this time you may also toss shrimp, calamari, and scallops in a sautee pan with 1 tbsp of olive oil.  The seafood is done cooking when the shrimp appear pinkish-red.

2. Meanwhile, make the sauce by placing the garlic cloves, lemon juice, and 2 tbsp. olive oil into a food processor. Process until smooth. Now add in the pitted avocado, basil, and salt. Process until smooth and creamy.

3. When pasta is done cooking, drain and rinse in a strainer and place pasta into a large bowl. Pour on sauce and toss until fully combined.

Garnish with lemon zest and black pepper.  And toss with seafood or chicken.  Serve immediately. Makes 2 servings.

Please note: This dish does not reheat well due to the avocado in the sauce. Please serve immediately.

I served this dish with a yummy caprese salad drizzled with balsamic vinegar.  It was a hit!  We will definitely be making both of these quick and tasty dishes again!

4 responses to “Wheatberry & Beet Salad and Avocado Seafood Medley Pasta

  1. I will definitely have to try that beet salad. Every time I eat beets, I remember how much I LOVE them. I did make the avocado pasta few weeks ago and liked it too (especially how fast/easy it was!) But… I didn’t like that you can’t really make enough to have leftovers the next day because of the avocado.

    • Yes!! The beet salad is good….makes so much, I will need to half the recipe! I found out brand new information too that I didn’t include earlier….I’m the only one that likes beets in the house. Pasta was really good!! Yummm!

  2. The beet salad looks like heaven. I love Beets, they are perfect when I start to feel a little anemic.

  3. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just
    wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the
    same subjects? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

