Tangy Potato Salad and Stuffed Red Peppers

Mmmm….I love fresh potato salad in the summertime at a picnic or just as a side for lunch.  I found this recipe for Tangy Potato Salad here at Choosing Raw, a great blog with raw and vegan recipes.  This recipe was listed under the category of Top 12 Raw and Vegan Recipes for July 4th Weekend.  There are many recipes I tend to make just out of these Top 12 listed here.  Now let me start by telling you, since I do not follow a strict vegan diet, I actually tweaked the recipe a little and did not go forth with using the Veganaise (or Nayonaise, or any vegan mayo), the original recipe called for.  Instead I used Trader Joe’s Reduced Fat Mayonnaise.  I also halved the ingredients in order to just make it as a side item for us and to have a little leftover to eat another day.

Tangy Potato Salad, Inspired by Choosing Raw

Serves 4

2 lbs baby yukon gold potatoes, quartered
2 small stalks celery, finely chopped
1 small red onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup Trader Joe’s Reduced Fat Mayonnaise or (Veganaise or Nayonaise, or any vegan mayo)
1/8 cup sweet pickle relish
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 tsps smoked paprika
1/2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
Salt and black pepper to taste
5 large leaves basil, sliced in a chiffonade

Method

1) Set a large pot of water over high heat, and add potatoes once it’s reached a rolling boil. Cook till fork tender.

2) Drain potatoes, and toss with celery and onion.

While they cool, mix the mayonnaise, relish, mustard, paprika, vinegar, salt and pepper. Add it to the potatoes and mash with hands or with two large wooden spoons. Add only enough of the mayo dressing to coat potatoes generously; you may well have extra.

3) Serve potato salad with basil chiffonade on top. Yum!! Eat as a side item, or just as a light lunch!  Leftovers are great and encouraged as well!

Now for my favorite stuffed pepper recipe I’ve tried.  I remember being a little girl having my mom make me stuffed peppers with about 50% white rice and 50% ground beef as the stuffing, topped with tomato soup straight from the can.  Well this recipe for stuffed peppers will more definitely be replacing your current stuffed pepper recipe!

I was looking for a new stuffed pepper recipe and stumbled upon this one from Happy Little Vegans.  You can see the original recipe and find it here.  Again I only changed 2 things from the original recipe, 1.) I used red peppers instead of green peppers 2.) I de-veganized it!! (sorry, we used reduced fat shredded chedder cheese instead of Daiya).  We loved, loved, loved this stuffed pepper recipe and will be making it again!!  We stuffed 4 peppers, so we had 1 each for dinner last night and 1 each for leftover lunch today!

Stuffed Red Peppers, Inspired by Happy Little Vegans

Serves 4

1 tbsp olive oil

4 red bell peppers

1/2 yellow onion

2 handfuls of sliced portabello mushrooms

generous handful of fresh sweet basil leaves

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/2 package of reduced fat shredded cheese (or Daiya)

1/2 cup dry quinoa=2 cups cooked quinoa

1 jar of marinara sauce

Method

1.) Preheat oven to 375.  First prepare your peppers.  Wash them, remove tags, slice off the top and scoop out the seeds.

2.) In a large baking dish, lightly coat the bottom with a smear of marinara sauce.  Place peppers in the dish of marinara and slide them into your oven while you continue preparing.

3.)  If making 4 large peppers, combine 1/2 cup of dry quinoa with 1 cup of boiling water, turn heat down to simmer.  Set the timer for 12 minutes for the perfect quinoa consistency.

4.)  Next dice your onions and mushrooms.  Add onions to olive oil in sautee pan.  Sautee onions and add garlic powder and pepper.  Next add the mushrooms to the onions and sautee until mushrooms are slightly tender.  Chop your handful of basil and add HALF to the onion/mushroom mixture.

5.) Your quinoa should be ready by now…add the quinoa and onion/mushroom mixture to a large bowl and stir.  Now add the remaining basil, 1/2 jar of marinara sauce and 1/4 bag of shredded cheese.  You will have a thick stuffing mixture now.

6.)  Carefully pull your peppers out of the oven and place on cooktop.  Stuff each pepper to the top.

7.)  Drizzle more marinara on top and in bottom of dish.  Top with additional shredded cheese.

8.)  Place in oven and continue to cook for approx. 30 min.  Check frequently and remove peppers based on your liking.  Some people like more crunchy peppers, some more soggy.  Ours turned out JUST RIGHT! 😉

All this cooking, made me almost forget to include a new picture of Lacey Lou, after her trip to the groomers yesterday!

My sweet and CLEAN puppy

Here’s Lacey currently….fast asleep while mommy blogs….I think she’s got the right idea for a lazy Wednesday afternoon.

6 responses to “Tangy Potato Salad and Stuffed Red Peppers

  1. DE-veganized?!! haha- the complete opposite of what I do. I go through so much “veganizing” with certain recipes! Both of these look great though. And Lacey looks adorable!

    • YES–I know right?? I actually think that’s exactly why I can’t get on Finding Vegan–b/c I’m not vegan. 🙂 Lacey is a new puppy!! She seriously looks like a 2 month old puppy, like when we got her. I know Lilly is excited to see her again soon! 😉

  2. I had a pizza with daiya this weekend and I couldn’t really get into it. Probably because I still eat cheese so why not have the real thing.

    I love how clean pups are after they come back from the groomers. Cooper always only lasts a few minutes because he heads down the hill into the swamp.

    • I’ve tried daiya on pizza as well, and couldn’t get into it either too much. I love how stringy and melted dairy cheese is on pizza, that I dont think I could give that up!

      haha–I can only imagine how fast bigger dogs get dirty again after the groomers. I keep Lacey out of all dirt and grass that is not completely green for as long as I can after she comes back from the groomers! 😉

  3. i’ve just started experimenting with daiya lately, too. i didn’t really like it on pizza, but it was great in quesadillas. and the potato salad and stuffed peppers both look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

