Peanut Butter & Jelly Bars!!

So Brandon and I have been addicted to Larabars lately and after discussing how they only have 3-5 ingredients, I figured I’d better attempt to make them myself.  I love the flavor combo of peanut butter and jelly so I thought I’d try re-creating these first, although I’d like to try making more flavors of Larabars in the future.  Check out the Larabar website here, there are TONS of great flavors too!  They are a great snack to eat at work, on the run, or just for an energy boost!

 Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabars

Making these bars took me 10 minutes max from start to finish!  This recipe yields only 5 bars, so you may want to double this recipe, or just make more when needed because you can almost make them in a TV commercial break.

Homemade Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabars

Ingredients

2/3 cup roasted and unsalted peanuts

10 dates (found in the produce section)

1/2 cup dried cherries

Directions

Grind the peanuts in a food processor, remove and add to a small
bowl.

Grind the dates and cherries in the food processor until finely
chopped.

Add date mixture to peanut mixture and mix together until well
combined.

Smoosh the mixture into bar shapes and store in plastic wrap in the fridge.


Makes 5 bars.

WOW!! Just that easy!! You will be done making these faster than you can restart your computer–umm yea seriously.

Nutritional Info
1 Peanut Butter & Jelly Homemade Larabar
  • Calories: 202.0
  • Total Fat: 9.6 g
  • Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
  • Sodium: 4.5 mg
  • Total Carbs: 26.9 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 3.5 g
  • Protein: 5.3 g

LARABAR FUN FACTS (from the Larabar website)

LÄRABAR is a delicious blend of unsweetened fruits, nuts and spices.   Made from 100% whole food, each flavor contains no more than nine ingredients. Pure and simple, just as nature intended.

On the label is “GLUTEN FREE * DAIRY FREE * SOY FREE * NON-GMO * VEGAN * KOSHER”

The shelf life for each bar is 12 months. We use a multi-layer package that keeps out UV light and oxygen, which, in turn, maintains freshness without the use of preservatives.

Here is a fun collage of Lacey doing her favorite things!  What a happy puppy!

I hope you enjoy making and eating these Larabars as much as we did! 

Lots of happy puppies & Love,

Lisa

13 responses to “Peanut Butter & Jelly Bars!!

  1. Easy and yummy looking- love it. Did you get the recipe from oh she glows? I never saw this recipe on there, but saw a few others. I recently came across like a chocolate chip cookie dough Larabar recipe and a blueberry bliss one! So many simple and delicious combinations!

  2. There is an extra “like” in there… don’t know how that happened. Wasn’t trying to throw in extra “likes” 🙂

  3. No I just googled Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar and found it here. http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=875253 Those sound good too!! I can’t wait to make more flavors too!

  4. cool- wondered how you had the nutrition info! How did your food processor do with the dates?

  5. Food processor did well…no problems…took your advice and did only 5 dates plus half the cherries at a time.

  6. I’m obsessed with Larabar. When the local store has them on sale I literally buy out all the lemon, lime and banana bread ones. However my hate of peanuts will keep me away from this recipe 😉 But I really must try making my own someday.

  7. PS, love the yawn picture extra much.

  8. You were right about how quick they are. I just made cherry larabar with almonds!

    • Awesome post!!! I need to get cooking now and post another blog–I’ve been so busy with others things going on in my life, like my ‘x’ key on my keyboard not working unless I push down all my might. haha

  9. Pingback: Homemade Cherry Larabar | Sometimes I "Veg"

  10. Pingback: Oh My Sweetie Pie » Lara-Like Bars

Leave a Reply

