“Time to Make the Doughnuts!”

Have you ever heard of the phrase, “Time to Make the Doughnuts!” ?  It’s from a 1983 Dunkin Donuts commercial, it cracks me up thinking about it actually.  The commercial must’ve ran for quite a few years, because I remember the commercial vividly and I was born in 1983.  If you’ve never seen the commercial, here it is on YouTube.com.   So as I was prepping for these doughnuts, I kept thinking to myself, “Time to Make the Doughnuts!” –haha so funny! 🙂  I’d have to say these are BEST doughnuts I’ve ever had for many reasons!

1.)  They are 100% VEGAN!

2.)  They are sweet and have a good moist consistency and you can decorate them however YOU want!

3.)  They are BAKED, not FRIED!!

I made these doughnuts to share with friends at my puppy’s birthday party!  Yes my friends and I have puppy birthday parties…when you are in your late 20’s and have no children, you have to have to celebrate your dog’s birthday!  Besides, it’s another reason to get together with friends!

*Note these are not for dogs.

Baked Vegan Doughnuts, Inspired by OhSheGlows.com

Dry Ingredients
1 Cup All Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Sugar (I used raw cane sugar)
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Nutmeg
1/4 tsp Cinnamon

Wet Ingredients
1/2 Cup Soymilk (I’m sure this would work with any milk or non-milk substitute)
1/2 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar (I believe you can substitute this for regular white vinegar)
1/2 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
1 Egg or 1 Flax Egg (1 tbsp. Ground Flax Seeds + 3 tbsp. water–stir and let sit for 5 min)
4 Tbs Earth Balance (regular margarine should work too)

Icing Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered icing
  • 1 tbsp soy milk
  • sprinkles

You can buy a donut pan like mine, here.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Take all the wet ingredients and put in a small pot on the stovetop on low. Whisk ingredients together to blend well.

Do not let the mixture get too hot, it should just be warm to the touch. Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.

Add the wet to the dry and mix until just incorporated. Do not over mix.

Now the batter will become very sticky, so it can be tricky putting the batter into the doughnut pans.  Spray your pans with cooking spray to prevent sticking.  After a few trials, what I found worked best was taking a 3 spoonfuls worth of dough and scooping it directly over the individual mold. Then take your fingers to press it out and make the middle pop through.

Bake for 12 minutes.

You don’t want them brown, but they should slowly pop up when pressed with a finger. Cool on a wire rack and then decorate!  Makes 6 doughnuts.

Look at Lacey at my feet just waiting for a crumb to fall!

Since I was bringing my doughnuts to share with others, I followed this recipe 3 times!  I first started out making 1 batch, just to see how they came out.  They figured I’d make a 2nd, then thought well if someone has more than 1, I’d better make 3 batches.  So let’s just say I got my practice with this recipe real well yesterday.

Are you sold yet?  Here is a photo I edited, I liked the bright contrast–it reminded me of an Andy Warhol painting.

Here is the sweet puppy, ready to celebrate her 1st birthday party…

…and we are ready to celebrate with doughnuts!

10 responses to ““Time to Make the Doughnuts!”

  1. haha- I totally remember that saying! SO funny. I love your first pic especially- they look so colorful and yummy… and a bonus- they are vegan! I appreciate the fact that you are always willing to try/bake/cook vegan foods even though you aren’t strictly vegan- so many people don’t even consider that they can bake without eggs & butter! I can’t wait to try these tonight.

    • Yey!! I’m so glad you and your family (Nate and Lilly) came to Lacey’s birthday party!! She absolutely LOVES her ‘bully’ stick…sounds like something she should carry for protection when she gets to high school–haha. She can’t get enough of it…now I see why Lilly loves it so much! I want to make more doughnuts now maybe to bring home to my parents in Ohio….I enjoy cooking Vegan–anyways do I really need to sit around and eat 2 dozen doughnuts alone anyways? 🙂

  2. hooray for baked vegan doughnuts! yours are gorgeous!

  3. Happy Birthday Cutey Puppy. I love Lacey’s tutu.

    BTW, your donuts look incredible. That first shot looks absolutely delectable. And I love your in process shots.

  4. Thanks Miriam!! They’re so easy to make and I was shocked seriously how FAST they were eaten by everyone–faster than cupcakes or cookies ever are eaten!

  5. Pingback: Lacey’s 1st Puppy Party! | happy puppy lucky lady

  6. yum. if i weren’t eating raw i’d be all about these. maybe in the future. thanks for sharing!!

  7. Pingback: Three Easy Vegan Sweet Treats Worth Trying!!! | happy puppy lucky lady

Leave a Reply

