Treats for Puppies and People

Treats for Puppies and People

Last week I made my sweet puppy, Lacey, some Pup Tarts from a doggie treat recipe I got from The Organic Dog Biscuit Cookbook.  Lacey has loved all the treats I have made her and treats from this cookbook she has gotten from friends.

Pup Tarts, taken from The Organic Dog Biscuit Cookbook

For Dough:

  • 1 c. oat flour (can be replaced with whole wheat flour, if your pup doesn’t have wheat allergies)
  • 1/2 c. brown rice flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. safflower oil
  • 1/4 c. water

For Filling:

  • 1/2 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 c. diced strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 c. peanut butter (unsalted)
  • 1 egg

Directions

Preheat oven to 400degrees.  Combine all dough ingredients together and mix thoroughly.

Roll out on a lightly floured surface to 1/4in. thickness.

Divide evenly into 24 pieces and press them into the cups of a lightly greased mini muffin pan.

Stir all the filling ingredients together and mix thoroughly.

Scoop even amounts into each of the crusts in the muffin pan.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the edges of the crust are golden brown.

Store in an airtight container in the refridgerator.

This is very important because since these treats do not have any preservatives they only stay fresh in the fridge for 2 weeks.  If you are like me and have a small pup, it is best to either freeze what won’t be eaten in the next 2 weeks, or give to other dog owners so they can share these yummy dog treats with their puppies too!

Mmmm…Lacey loves these treats!!  I think the combination of fruit and peanut butter must be really tasty to her!

What a good puppy sitting to get her Pup Tart!
For the next recipe, I am going to share a treat for people–
Scratch Made Peach Blackberry Crisp
Brandon had just brought home from the Springs Farm in Fort Mill, SC, and I had just picked up some blackberries from the market so I literally looked up peach and blackberry desserts and found this recipe on Bran Appetit!
  • 2-3 cups blackberries
  • 3-4 peaches, peeled and diced
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp flour
  • 2/3 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 canola oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Toss fruit with 1 Tbsp sugar and 1 Tbsp flour and pour into greased 8×8 baking dish.
  3. In separate bowl, mix the oats, flour, sugar, oil, salt, and cinnamon together until combined.
  4. Spread crisp topping over the fruit.
  5. Bake 35-45 minutes or until the topping is browned and fruit is bubbling around the edges.
  6. Serve. Preferably with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream. (which we did not have at the moment!)

Fruit-filled crisps are a great summertime dessert!  They don’t take many ingredients to make and taste like summer!  I love them because they are so versitile, you can throw in any fresh fruit you have on hand for a tasty fruit combo!  For some more fruit combinations try; apple-strawberry, blueberry-strawberry, or apple-peach!  Mmm…

Check out these blogs for additional dog treat recipes!

Flower Power Cookies

Strawberry Blueberry Muttins

6 responses to “Treats for Puppies and People

  1. What did you use to cut them into those little circles? Looks like a cap maybe? Very clever- I cut them into squares with a knife but circles seem a bit easier! Lilly approved of these treats at pops in the park.

    • Yes I used the cap of the sea salt bottle. It was pretty easy…but I totally was running low on time so I threw them in the muffin pan real quickly not even doing it very neatly. I figured Lacey would like them no matter what. 🙂

  2. the crisp looks like it turned out great! glad you tried it!

  3. You know what’s funny, I spend hours making food for myself but I think making treats for my Cooper takes too long. I need to amend that.

    And your crisp looks fantastic too!

    • Yea!! I LOVE making Lacey doggie treats b/c I guess I feel like I’m cooking for my daughter! Plus I know they’re all organic and what’s going into them! 😉 The crisp was soo good and can be whipped up very quickly and last minute too!!

Leave a comment