Three Easy Vegan Sweet Treats Worth Trying!!!

So this summer while I’ve been on my summer break from teaching, I’ve had a lot of extra time to procrastinate, look up random things on google, go on my pinterest account, facebook, bake and make yummy vegetarian homemade dinners.  Years ago I used to be able to finish off 1 dozen doughnuts or cupcakes alone…now I just eat a couple and share the rest with my boyfriend or friends.  I enjoy finding good recipes and trying them out myself.  Here are my newest 3 vegan sweet treat finds!

1.)  Chocolate Cherry Cashew Bars, from Peas and Thank You.

The idea for this recipe was taken from another Kind of bar…get it?? 🙂  I did a taste comparison and if I don’t say so myself, I like Mama Pea’s version better than the original.

2.)  Flax Globalls, from Oh She Glows.

These were super simple to make and I had all the ingredients at my house already–better yet!! Pop in the fridge or freezer for a quick summer no-guilt treat!

3.)  PB and J-Filled Cupcakes, from Peas and Thank You-the Cookbook

I’m going to be nice and include this recipe since it’s on the Peas and Thank You blog…as long as you promise me you’ll buy the book! 🙂

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

1 3/4 cups white whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2/3 cup organic sugar

2/3 cup non-dairy or organic milk

1/4 cup natural peanut butter

Filling:

1/3 cup 100% fruit preserves(raspberry or strawberry are best)

1/3 cup natural peanut butter

Directions

1.)  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a muffin tin with cupcake papers or spray with cooking spray.

2.)  In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.

3.) In a small bowl, mix vanilla, sugar, milk and 1/4 cup peanut butter.

4.)  Add wet mixture to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

5.)  Place a large spoonful of batter in the bottom of each muffin well.  Add approximately 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of preserves and 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of peanut butter on top of batter, and then an additional teaspoon of cupcake batter on top of the peanut butter and preserves.

6.)  Bake cupcakes for 20 to 25 minutes, until tops are golden brown.

I encourage you to try 1 or all of these quick vegan sweet treats and share with others as well!!  They will thank you for it!

Sweet Treats and Puppy Kisses,

Lisa

2 responses to “Three Easy Vegan Sweet Treats Worth Trying!!!

  1. She’s so fluffy right now!
    I love vegan desserts. So many are easy, yummy and delicious.

  2. 🙂 I know!! We’ve been trying to comb her hair daily too avoid mats! I love vegan desserts as well…it’s crazy to think for so long you HAD to use only egg as a binding agent.

Leave a comment